First Announcement – NORMA 17, May 30 – June 2, 2017

The Eighth Nordic Conference on Mathematics Education, NORMA 17 will take place in Stockholm, Sweden, May 30–June 2, 2017. The theme for the conference is Nordic research in mathematics education.

The conference is hosted by the Department of mathematics and science education at Stockholm university and organised in collaboration with NoRME – the Nordic Society for Research in Mathematics Education. NoRME is open for membership from national societies for research in mathematics education in the Nordic and Baltic countries.

The conference will give Nordic and Baltic researchers in mathematics education opportunities to introduce their research by regular (10 pages) and short communication (1 page) papers, working groups and symposia. The conference is a forum for the discussions and constructive meetings of researchers, teachers, teacher educators, graduate students and others interested in research on mathematics education in the Nordic context. The proceedings of the conference will be published electronically.

The official language of the conference is English.

(The estimate for the conference payment is 380 euro.)

The deadline for the submissions of the regular papers and for the presentations of the symposia and the short communications will be in January, 2017. Guidelines for papers and for the review process as well as further information about the conference will be published on the NORMA 17 website www.mnd.su.se/norma17 in March 2016.

The call for papers will appear on the conference web page by middle of October 2016.

Conference Scientific Committee:

Members

Chair: Eva Norén, Stockholm University, Sweden (eva.noren@mnd.su.se)

Sweden: Hanna Palmér (Linnéuniversitet, Växjö), Johan Prytz (Uppsala University) and Paul Andrews (Stockholm University)

Norway: Martin Carlsen, Ingvald Erfjord (both University of Agder), Janne Fauskanger, Reidar Mosvold, (both University of Stavanger)

Denmark: Sif Skjoldager, Lena Lindenskov (Århus University)

Finland: Markus Hähkioniemi (University of Jyväskylä), Antti Viholainen (University of Eastern Finland), Jorma Joutsenlahti (University of Tampere) and Anu Laine (University of Helsinki).

Baltics: Madis Lepik (Tallin University)

Iceland: Freyja Hreinsdottir (University of Iceland)

For the local organising committee: Anna Pansell and Tomas Persson (Stockholm University).